Duck Farts, Milk Stout and the mother load … Mother’s Brewing Company

011

I have lagged in my blogging lately. Between birthday parties, bachelorette parties and my job, I have not had the time … or even the mental faculties to write a proper blog entry, but I’M BACK BETCHES!!!

To begin, I helped a good friend celebrate her “golden” birthday in style. This began by pre-gaming the night before with duck fart shots. Upon drinking said shot, it was decided that “duck fart” was a good thing to randomly shout out and inappropriate times 🙂 So what’s in a duck fart shot you ask? Well, it’s a lovely mixture of whiskey, ameretto and Bailey’s. Having never consumed said shot before, this constituted my “new” drink for that week.

Fast forward to last Friday. I attended a friend’s bachelorette party held in her sister’s home. It was a BYOB party, so I stopped in my friendly local liquor store to see what tasty beverages I could find. Thankfully, they had two cute male clerks who were more than willing to help me find some to wet my whistle ;-). I ended up purchasing Left Hand’s Milk Stout Nitro upon their recommendation and receiving recommendations for two more beers which I should be sampling in the next few weeks. Milk Stout Nitro is a dark beer. I’m typically a dark beer fan, but it is very smooth and not heavy. I bought a 6 pack and drank 4 of them at the party. I’d typically only drink one dark beer then switch to something lighter. I would definitely purchase it again.

Which brings us to this evening. My friend’s brother is part of a small micro-brewery in Springfield, Missouri. Jeff was kind enough to share a small sampling of his stash with me since this FABULOUS beer is not sold here in Wichita, Kansas. 😦 My complimentary four pack included the following selections: Holy Mole, Uber Pils, Winter Grind Coffee Stout, and Tow Head American Blonde (drank in that order). I was really excited to try the Holy Mole which is described as, “inspired by traditional Mexican mole sauces” and includes a slight spiciness from various peppers. It is an excellent beer that I highly recommend. But I have to admit, my favorite was the one I expected to like the least, the Winter Grind Coffee Stout. It was so smooth and delicious and tastes like an iced coffee. You almost wouldn’t even recognize that it contains alcohol it’s so smooth. I am, and forever will be, a fan of Mother’s Brewing Company and can hardly wait to try other tasty selections from them. My only hope is that they will someday be able to convince a distributer to bring their tastiness here to podunk Wichita, Kansas!!! I encourage you all to check them out. Their website is as follows: http://www.mothersbrewing.com.

Until next week, stay thirsty my friends 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment